Permanent Academic Staff

Overview

Overview

  Name and Contact Details Research Interests
Mr Patrick Adams
Lecturer
Room M3.29; x2348 patrick.adams@uct.ac.za
Mathematics Education at the Tertiary Level, Cosmic Magnetism, MHD and Fluid Dynamics Simulation, Exoplanetary Science.
Dr Nora Alexeeva
Senior Lecturer
Room M4.12; x2704 nora.alexeeva@uct.ac.za
Non-linear dynamics; pattern formation
Prof. Igor Barashenkov
Professor
Room M4.20; x2333
igor.barashenkov "AT" uct.ac.za
Nonlinear waves and solitons
Prof. Bruce Bassett
Professor
Bruce.Bassett@uct.ac.za
Theoretical and Observational Cosmology, general relativity and heuristic optimisation
Dr Claire Blackman
Lecturer
Room M3.07; x3863 claire.blackman@uct.ac.za
Mathematics education in tertiary institutions, Braid and Graph Theory.
Dr Anabela Brandão
Senior Research Officer
Room M4.01.2; x2390
anabela.brandao@uct.ac.za
Biological modelling; fisheries assessment and management
Prof. Peter Bruyns
Associate Professor
Room M3.14; x3195
peter.bruyns@uct.ac.za
Group theory; Permutation groups
Dr Tiri Chinyoka
Lecturer
Room M1.06; x3933
tiri.chinyoka@uct.ac.za
Computational fluid dynamics
Prof. Chris Clarkson
Associate Professor
Room M3.16; x5723
chris.clarkson@uct.ac.za
Cosmology
Dr Alvaro de la Cruz-Dombriz
Lecturer
Room M4.13.1; x4065
alvaro.delacruzdombriz@uct.ac.za
Cosmology, Dark Energy, Dark Matter, Modified Theories of Gravity, History of Science
Dr Carryn de Moor
Senior Research Officer
carryn.demoor@uct.ac.za
Mathematical modelling; biomathematics; fisheries assessment and management
Prof. Peter Dunsby
Professor
Room M3.03; x2344
peter.dunsby@uct.ac.za
General relativity; cosmological perturbations; inflationary cosmology; cosmic microwave background anisotropies; computer based science; mathematics education
Dr Francois Ebobisse Bille
Senior Lecturer
Room M3.06; x3274
francois.ebobissebille@uct.ac.za
Calculus of Variations; Differential Equations; Functional Analysis and applications in Continuum Mechanics
Dr David Erwin
Senior Lecturer
Room M3.27; x3208
david.erwin@uct.ac.za
Classical, algebraic, and applied graph theory.
Dr Ebrahim Fredericks
Lecturer
Room M3.10.1; x3209
ebrahim.fredericks@uct.ac.za
Lie Symmetries analysis of Stochastic Differential Equations; Lie Symmetries analysis of Partial Differential Equations; Lie Symmetries analysis of Ordinary Differential Equations; Applying Lie Symmetries to Fluid Mechanics, Applying Lie Symmetries to Mathematics of Finance
Dr John Frith
Senior Lecturer
Room M1.01.5; x3204
john.frith@uct.ac.za
Frame theory; categorical topology; mathematics education
Prof. Charles Hellaby
Associate Professor
Room M3.12; x2347
charles.hellaby@uct.ac.za
Cosmology; General Relativity; Gravity; Inhomogeneity in Cosmology; Deducing Spacetime from Observations
Dr Susan Holloway
Senior Research Officer
Room M4.01.3; x3646
susan.holloway@uct.ac.za
Fisheries assessment and management; marine population ecology
Prof Alexandar Ianovsky
Associate Professor
Room M3.05; x2345
alexandar.ianovsky@uct.ac.za
Infinite and Finite Dimensional Dynamical Systems
Prof George Janelidze
Professor
Room M3.26; x5732
george.janelidze@uct.ac.za
Category theory, Algebra, Topology, Sets and Logic
Dr Tamar Janelidze-Gray
Lecturer
Room M3.23.1; x3686
tamar.janelidze-gray@uct.ac.za
Category theory, General and homological algebra, Topology
Ms Mariola Kirova
Lecturer
Room M3.00; x3651
mariola.kirova@uct.ac.za
Mathematics education
Prof. Hans-Peter Künzi
Professor & HOD
Room M3.13; x3187
hans-peter.kunzi@uct.ac.za
Topology, orders, categories, combinatorics and their applications in analysis and algebra; focus on the theory of asymmetric topology
Dr Julien Larena
Senior Lecturer
Room M4.15; x3202
julien.larena@uct.ac.za
Cosmology; Gravitation.
Dr Henri Laurie
Senior Lecturer
Room M3.02; x2342
henri.laurie@uct.ac.za
Mathematical ecology; industrial mathematics; mathematics education
Dr Robert Martin
Lecturer
Room M3.25; x5734
robert.martin@uct.ac.za
Functional Analysis; Operator Theory
Dr Bishop Mongwane
Lecturer
Room M3.23.2; x5225
bishop.mongwane@uct.ac.za
Numerical Relativity, Cosmology
Mr Ruan Moolman
Lecturer
Room M3.28; x5688
ruan.moolman@uct.ac.za
Mathematics Education at Tertiary Level (metacognition), Research in educational assessment.
Prof. Jeff Murugan
Associate Professor
Room M2.04; x3197
jeff@nassp.uct.ac.za
String Theory, Quantum Gravity and Neurophysics
Dr Bob Osano
Lecturer
Room M301; x4529
bob.osano@uct.ac.za
Theoretical Cosmology, General Relativity and Mathematics Education.
Prof. Daya Reddy
Professor of Applied Mathematics
South African Research Chair in Computational Mechanics
Menzies Bldg, Room 529.6; x3787
daya.reddy@uct.ac.za
Mathematical and computational aspects of continuum mechanics; the finite element method
Dr Neill Robertson
Senior Lecturer
Room M1.08; x3814
neill.robertson@uct.ac.za
Functional analysis; locally convex spaces; descriptive set theory; infinite dimensional holomorphy
Dr Francesco Russo
Senior Lecturer
Room M4.14; x1481
francesco.russo@uct.ac.za
Topology, Group Theory, Homology, Lie Theory, Geometric Measure Theory, Mathematical Models in Music
Dr Juana Sanchez-Ortega 
Lecturer
Room M419 x3206
juana.sanchez-ortega@uct.ac.za
Algebra, specifically rings, Lie algebras, and related structures; graph algebras, computer algebra and category theory
Dr Anneliese Schauerte
Senior Lecturer
Room M1.01.4; x3196
anneliese.schauerte@uct.ac.za
Frame and biframe theory; categorical topology; uniform and quasi-uniform structures
Dr Jonathan Shock
Lecturer
Room M3.24.2; x3644
jonathan.shock@uct.ac.za
String theory, mathematical biology, machine learning, Emergent geometry, biostatistics,  neuroscience and symbolic computation.
Dr Haris Skokos
Senior Lecturer
Room M3.24.1; x5074
haris.skokos@uct.ac.za
Nonlinear dynamical systems; Chaotic dynamics; Hamiltonian systems
Dr Holger Spakowski
Lecturer
Room M1.02; x2849
holger.spakowski@uct.ac.za
Theoretical computer science; Computational complexity
Dr Christine Swart
Lecturer
Room M4.18; x3201
christine.swart@uct.ac.za
Cryptography, Stream Cyphers.
Mr Thomas van Heerden
Lecturer
Room M1.01.6; x3200
t.vanheerden@uct.ac.za
Mathematical Physics, Nonlinear Dynamics, Numerical Analysis; Mathematics education

Prof Amanda Weltman
Associate Professor
NRF/DST South African Research Chair in Physical Cosmology
Room M206; x3815
amanda.weltman@uct.ac.za

String Theory, Cosmology and Gravity
Numeracy Center
The numeracy center staff can be found in Hoerikwaggo Floor 5 & 6

Ms. Vera Frith
Senior Lecturer, Unit head
Room H6.05; x5722
vera.frith@uct.ac.za
Quantitative Literacy curriculum for Higher Education
Mr. Jacob Jaftha
Room H6.04; x2332
jacob.jaftha@uct.ac.za
Quantitative Literacy
Ms. Pam Lloyd
Lecturer
Room H6.08; x5724
pamela.lloyd@uct.ac.za
 
Ms. Sheena Rughubar-Reddy
Lecturer
Room H6.05; x5730
sheena.rughubar-reddy@uct.ac.za